About

San Francisco campus entrance

About Division of Graduate Studies

The Graduate Studies student success team, led by the Dean of the Division of Graduate Studies, is comprised of professionals who hold highly integrated and specialized roles in post-baccalaureate student services, outreach, graduate admissions, continuing student advising and degree progress. We support the academic and personal success of all students regardless of origin and status.

Mission

As a central hub for all graduate education on campus, our mission is threefold:

To provide exemplary and ethical service: We assist students from application and admission through graduation. We advise and provide counsel on all aspects of student life; assist with applications to fellowships and grants; showcase student research and creative work; and foster civic engagement.

To cooperate with colleges and departments: We facilitate outreach, application, admission and enrollment; participate in academic program review, assist in developing new academic and professional degree proposals; and deliver comprehensive data and research to inform graduate education.

To advocate for inclusive and equitable graduate education: We establish strategic partnerships with on-campus and external stakeholders; communicate with prospective and current students, alumni and the public; and raise funds to support student life and professional development.

Vision

We intend to become the premier urban, nationally recognized graduate school in California, and a destination campus for students looking for excellence, intellectual engagement, creativity, a culture of service, and a commitment to the public good.

Sophie Clavier - Dean of Graduate StudiesDear San Francisco State Graduate Education community, Fall 2019 promises to be an exciting semester for graduate education at San Francisco State.

We have a new president, Dr. Lynn Mahoney, whose convocation address was a renewed affirmation of our commitment to provide an excellent, inclusive and transformative education. On behalf of the Division of Graduate Studies, I extend a warm welcome to President Mahoney. We all look forward to her leadership!

We are also welcoming over 1,000 new graduate and credential students to our community. You are joining our returning students in their quest for the higher education and training needed to pursue your passions and dreams. Let me congratulate all of you for being the future leaders in your field. I have no doubt that individually and collectively you will change society for the better. You will be engaged in research that will benefit science, you will be the new business leaders who will change the boardroom, you will write poetry that will inspire, you will run the nonprofit that will protect the human rights of all, you will propose solutions to the pressing global issues of climate change, poverty and war.

Let me also thank you for entrusting us with your higher education. We believe that we are the best place to be: a university with social justice and equity at its core, with a student-centered excellent education, at the heart of a vibrant and exciting city. We are so pleased that you are joining us. You are bringing with you your own experiences, and your own achievements. It is a wonderful opportunity for our campus to have you study with us. I look forward to meeting each and every one of you. My door is (almost) always open! Associate Dean Noah Price and the entire Graduate Division team are here to help you achieve success.

Have a wonderful semester!

New Student Guide. Welcome to San Francisco State University

Sophie Clavier, Ph.D.
Dean, Division of Graduate Studies

Name Phone Email
Dr. Sophie Clavier
Dean of Graduate Studies
(415) 338-2232 sclavier@sfsu.edu
Noah Price
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies
(415) 405-3506 nprice@sfsu.edu
Mary Menees
Senior Operations Officer & Culminating Experience Coordinator
(415) 405-3982 mmenees@sfsu.edu
Jeanie Kim
Dean's Assistant / Administrative Coordinator
(415) 338-2232 jeakim@sfsu.edu
Dr. Joy Viveros
Director, Fellowships Office
(415) 405-2128 jviveros@sfsu.edu
Maria Katrina Echon
Associate Director, Graduate Admissions & Academic Services
(415) 405-3744 mkechon@sfsu.edu
Tatiana Hummel
Associate Director, Enrollment & Recruitment
(415) 405-4108 thummel@sfsu.edu
Jasmine Flores
Associate Director, Events & Continuing Student Services
(415) 405-4231 jjflores@sfsu.edu
Sarah Nelson
Graduate Advising & Outreach Coordinator
(415) 405-3655 sarahnelson@sfsu.edu
Randy Tran
Graduate Admissions & Academic Department Services Coordinator
(415) 405-3504 randyhqt@sfsu.edu
Suong Nguyen
Graduate Admissions Evaluator
(415) 338-1766 suongn01@sfsu.edu
Vacant
International  Admissions Coordinator
(415) 338-6389 vacant@sfsu.edu
Vacant
International  Admissions Evaluator
(415) 338-7159 vacant@sfsu.edu
Khaled Ezzat
Special Degree Program Coordinator
(415) 405-4122 khaled@sfsu.edu
Mariana Lara
Continuing Student Services Coordinator
(415) 405-4391 maalara@sfsu.edu
Maham Khan
Continuing Student Evaluator
(415) 338-1763 mkhan786@sfsu.edu
Lizett Lopez
GradStop Coordinator
(415) 338-6069 lilopez@sfsu.edu
Zoe P. Blalock
GradStop Services Representative
(415) 338-7699 zblalock@sfsu.edu
Graduate Advisor
Graduate Advising & Outreach Assistant
(415) 405-3655 gradadv@sfsu.edu
Wynn Huynh
Information Technology Consultant
(415) 338-6068 whuynh@sfsu.edu