About

San Francisco campus entrance

About Division of Graduate Studies

The Graduate Studies student success team, led by the Dean of the Division of Graduate Studies, is comprised of professionals who hold highly integrated and specialized roles in post-baccalaureate student services, outreach, graduate admissions, continuing student advising and degree progress. We support the academic and personal success of all students regardless of origin and status.

Mission

As a central hub for all graduate education on campus, our mission is threefold:

To provide exemplary and ethical service: We assist students from application and admission through graduation. We advise and provide counsel on all aspects of student life; assist with applications to fellowships and grants; showcase student research and creative work; and foster civic engagement.

To cooperate with colleges and departments: We facilitate outreach, application, admission and enrollment; participate in academic program review, assist in developing new academic and professional degree proposals; and deliver comprehensive data and research to inform graduate education.

To advocate for inclusive and equitable graduate education: We establish strategic partnerships with on-campus and external stakeholders; communicate with prospective and current students, alumni and the public; and raise funds to support student life and professional development.

Vision

We intend to become the premier urban, nationally recognized graduate school in California, and a destination campus for students looking for excellence, intellectual engagement, creativity, a culture of service, and a commitment to the public good.


Virtual Tour

Sophie Clavier - Dean of Graduate StudiesOn behalf of the Division of Graduate Studies, I would like to welcome our future graduate students. We are thrilled that you are considering joining our outstanding community of domestic and international students and alumni. We aim to provide you with educational experiences that facilitate your academic, professional and personal growth and achievement. 

The Division of Graduate Studies is committed to delivering welcoming and inclusive programs and initiatives that advance San Francisco State’s mission of fostering excellence and equity, and to preparing our students well for their chosen academic and career paths.

To ease your transition to your graduate studies, I invite you to browse the Graduate Studies website, to familiarize yourself with the policies, procedures, workshops and resources included here, and to contact us at any time.

Remember that everyone on the Graduate Studies team, including me, is here as a resource to support you and your success!

Warm regards,

New Student Guide. Welcome to San Francisco State University

Sophie Clavier, Ph.D.
Dean of Graduate Studies

Graduate Studies Staff
Name Phone Email
Dr. Sophie Clavier
Dean of Graduate Studies
(415) 338-2232 sclavier@sfsu.edu
Noah Price
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies
(415) 405-3506 nprice@sfsu.edu
Mary Menees
Senior Operations Officer & Culminating Experience Coordinator
(415) 405-3982 mmenees@sfsu.edu
Jeanie Kim
Dean's Assistant / Administrative Coordinator
(415) 338-2232 jeakim@sfsu.edu
Dr. Joy Viveros
Executive Coordinator and Advisor, Fellowships Office
(415) 405-2128 jviveros@sfsu.edu
Maria Katrina Echon
Associate Director, Graduate Admissions & Academic Services
(415) 405-3744 mkechon@sfsu.edu
Tatiana Hummel
Associate Director, Enrollment & Recruitment
(415) 405-4108 thummel@sfsu.edu
Jasmine Flores
Associate Director, Events & Continuing Student Services
(415) 405-4231 jjflores@sfsu.edu
Sarah Nelson
Graduate Advising & Outreach Coordinator
(415) 405-3655 sarahnelson@sfsu.edu
Randy Tran
Graduate Admissions & Academic Department Services Coordinator
(415) 405-3504 randyhqt@sfsu.edu
Suong Nguyen
Graduate Admissions Evaluator
(415) 338-1766 suongn01@sfsu.edu
Clay Calder
International  Admissions Evaluator
(415) 338-6389 jccalder@sfsu.edu
Carrie Johnson
International  Admissions Evaluator
(415) 338-7159 cljohnson@sfsu.edu
Khaled Ezzat
Special Degree Program Coordinator
(415) 405-4122 khaled@sfsu.edu
Mariana Lara
Continuing Student Services Coordinator
(415) 405-4391 maalara@sfsu.edu
Maham Khan
Continuing Student Specialist
(415) 338-1763 mkhan786@sfsu.edu
Vacant
GradStop Coordinator
(415) 338-6069 vacant@sfsu.edu
Brenda Mejia
GradStop Services Representative
(415) 338-7699 bmejia2@sfsu.edu
Graduate Advisor
Graduate Advising & Outreach Assistant
(415) 405-3655 gradadv@sfsu.edu
Wynn Huynh
Information Technology Consultant
(415) 338-6068 whuynh@sfsu.edu